Review: Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) – Deborah Harkness

Liebe Leser,

wie ihr es vielleicht bemerkt habt, ist ein Tuesday Talk gestern leider ausgeblieben. Das schulde ich Scott Lynch, dessen Gentleman Bastard Series mich so sehr in seinen Fängen gehalten hat, dass ich darüber sowohl Zeit, als auch Uni ein ganz kleines bisschen aus den Augen verloren habe 😉

Nichtsdestotrotz möchte ich euch aber nicht vorenthalten, was sich in meiner Lese-Woche noch so getan hat, denn dass war so einiges: den Beginn macht heute ein Review zu Deborah Harkness‘ Buch „Shadow of Night“, zweiter Teil der All Souls Trilogy.

Mein Review enthält leider ein paar Spoiler & ist auf Englisch, deshalb habe ich euch >hier< mit der deutschen Zusammenfassung des ersten Teils auf Deutsch ausgestattet. Für alle, die sich vorwagen möchten: Review after the jump! 😉

 

Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2)Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, that didn’t take long at all, did it?
Somehow I was caught up in other books after Matthew’s – more or less – dramatic change. The magic in the All Souls trilogy is that sometimes I’m quite sure I don’t understand the words, but the meaning somehow snakes it’s way into my brain.
At first, I wasn’t able to see through the shadows Matthew draped around himself like a cloak, but the more Diana discovered, the more did I discover it, too. I guess that’s exactly how it is supposed to be!

~ FROM THIS POINT ON, THERE WILL BE SPOILERS !!! ~

So, without giving too much away, Shadow of Night happens in a very different set than A Discovery of Witches did.
I liked the Matthew from the old setting more, but he sacrificed himself for historical figures I found most exciting to read about. Especially about Elizabeth and also the side notes about Shakespeare.

Most of the characters we get to meet are nice, some of them broke my heart: I’m looking at you, Philippe!
He was so amazing and probably part of my reading break. When they left Sept Tours I was in denial of not seeing him again and kind of lost my patience with a different Matthew.
What I loved about Philippe is that he seemed so strong in everything: in his heart warming wit, his protectiveness, his love, his charme – everything. I can see where Matthew got some of his characteristics from.

Also, to meet Diana’s father was an interesting thing to read about. He was nothing what I expected him to be, but he surprised me with being such a unique and headstrong character. I enjoyed these pages featuring him, and alongside Diana, I understood that life is not what we expect it or want it to be. That was a really, really meaningful and deep moment.

I think I made so many dog ears on occasions where Matthew was described with barely more than a phrase and I was practically enchanted by him. I’m absolutely sure, that I’ll start fangirling in about ten seconds, if I keep up the positive sides of my review any longer; nevertheless I have to express my admiration to Deborah Harkness, who is a scholar and a fantastic fiction author alike! I imagine it might me hard to combine that at times, but the atmosphere she creates … magnificent!

Last but not least, there were some lenghts in the book and I got really annoyed by the Emperor and Kit at times. (Almost all the time, really). For me, personally, those were the things that were a bit negative to the book, but at least the Emperor arc was necessary for the book, so that’s necessary evil for me 😀

The ending, coming home to Sept Tours, broke my heart. Not just a bit, but a whole lot of breaking was involved, I give you that.
I kept it together when they said their goodbyes to the people in Elizabethian England, but when they arrived at Sept Tours, I was a crying baby. I’ve missed them throughout the book, all of them, and I already miss the people from the past. I think this is how Diana feels, minimized by 1000.

Which leaves me only with „The Book of Life“ to read. I’m really looking forward to it, although it marks the end of my Mat- … errr, the All Souls Trilogy. 🙂

„In every ending there is a new beginning“

(Song of the Book: The Theory of Everything OST – A Game of Croquet)

 

View all my reviews

Kommentar verfassen

