[Tag]: The Ultimate Book Tag

Liebe Leserinnen, liebe Leser,

die liebe Nathalie hat mich für den Ultimate Book Tag nominiert und obwohl das wohl eigentlich ein Tag für Booktuber ist, freue ich mich doch getaggt worden zu sein, weil die Fragen wirklich interessant sind. 🙂

Die Fragen sind übrigens auf Englisch und ich werde sie auch auf Englisch beantworten, aber ich glaube, dass es nicht allzu kompliziertes Englisch werden wird 🙂

Bereit für den Ultimate Book Tag? Dann los! 😉

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Sadly, I have to go with yes. It all started when I was reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on a journey by bus. I didn’t want to stop reading when I felt sick and since then I can’t ride a bus or a car and read at the same time. The only thing that works is when I’m travelling by train – and thank god for that!

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I cannot put only one author down here. I have to go with my four favourite writing people in the world, because they’re all so unique and talented that I would never miss them for the world: Derek Landy – funny and even funnier -, Samantha Shannon – fantastic poet in prose -, Scott Lynch – fantastic humour featuring humorous fantasy – and last but not least, the best and the best: the duo that Ilona Andrews is! Their Magic series is my favourite series on this planet because it is easy to read, yet full of meaning, love, some of the best jokes ever, one of the best alphas, a great female lead character and, boy, the action scenes are the ones to remember. I still shiver when I think back to the Midnight Games. BEST. BOOK. EVER!!!

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer. 

I’m gonna go with Harry Potter. Because:

1) I had an overdose of Twilight and Harry Potter just seems to surprise/amaze me more and more.

2) I love the idea of the houses at Hogwarts and the idea of wearing cool Ravenclaw clothes.

3) Professor Lupin is one of my absolute favourite book characters in all of ever!

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books…)?

I’d say my bag is mainly a book bag and only has other stuff in it, like purse etc., by accident. 😀

5. Do you smell your books?

Ab-so-lute-ly.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Apart from Mangas, I don’t read books with illustrations. (Except cards in the front, etc.)

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

I guess I’d have to go with some Nora Roberts books I read when I was younger. I thought her romance was so sweet and passionate, but later on, I was searching for stories that weren’t predictable.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I don’t think I have, partly because I started reading properly and extensively only when I was 14. So I guess that could be my story? 😉

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The first book in the „A Series of Unfortunate Events“ series and my Reclam versions of some classics, like „On Chesil Beach“ by Ian McEwan and my favourite Schiller piece „Maria Stuart“.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The German edition of Leo Tolstoy’s „War and Piece“ (1100 pages), and the German version of „The Fiery Cross“, book five in the Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon (1276 pages).

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I love to write. I have been writing FanFiction for a great amount of time during my school years and I’m still writing for myself whenever I can. Although I have written more and more academic stuff in the past few years, I am also still very close to my favourite ideas, like „The Fifth Poet“ or „Time Traces“. I want to be an author one day, but you know that feeling when you know that something is not ready yet? That instinct? That’s what it’s like with me and my writing. I have the ideas, I doodle around and write occasionally, but I know that I cannot express myself and the characters like I want to. Not just yet, but so you wait, world! 🙂

12. When did you get into reading?

As I said before, I only got into reading when I was 14 years old. My sister gave me „Twilight“ for my confirmation and I practically inhaled that book. While waiting for the next release, I practically inhaled my friend’s bookcase as well and that’s when my hunger started and well, it never stopped (for long) since. 🙂

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Schiller’s „Maria Stuart“ and everything by Oscar Wilde because…

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I actually loved English the last two years of school, but before that, I was awful at it. Which also explains why my grammar is still a bit off. I only started to love English when I couldn’t wait for the german translation of the House of Night novels – the pretty early ones – so I started to read them in English … and I got better and better, until I could watch series and also Doctor Who and from that point on I was hooked – and now I’m studying English, too. 🙂

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Uhm. That’s a hard question. People are actually pretty cautious around me with books as presents, because either they think I’ve already read everything or they think I don’t read German books anymore. So I’ve never got a book I read and hated, because those friends that still give me books as presents either know I want it – hey, Zuzanna! Thanks for „The One“ again! And Franzi for „The Elite“! 🙂 – or they give them to me because they know my taste and want to recommend something to me, like Nathalie does.

So, I guess I would either give it to a library or I would really politely ask if I could still exchange it for a book I want to read. 🙂

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Okay, Hunger Games? No. I am just not into that dystopian-trial-arena-catastrophe-revolution thing. I did like parts of the Hunger Games and I love, love, love the movies, but apart from that, I’m just not anywhere near that sort of dystopian thing.

Harry Potter? Hard one, too. I guess we can all agree on the fact that Harry Potter is unique. I could only connect certain aspects of it to other book series. Looking for cool magic being taught to a kid? Read „Skulduggery Pleasant“! Looking for insane friendship and a tad of magic? Read „Locke Lamora“! Also good friendship? „Morganville Vampire Series“. But similar to Harry Potter? I actually can’t think of anything right now. 🙂

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

Since I’m not filming anything, I can’t answer that question truthfully, but I’m famous for opening up subtopics in book-conversations like there’s no tomorrow. So I guess my videos would be 45 min. monsters with me, rambling on about something that is sliiiiightly off topic 😀

18. What is your favorite word?

Preposterous!!! (Thank you, Simon Taylor)

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’d probably go with dork, because I am pretty silly at times. 😉

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires. Because: Bones. Bones from Jeaniene Frost’s „Night of the Huntress“ series. Oh man, that British guy stole my heart as one of the first vampires, ever. Second and third place? These hunks:

(Don’t they look happy about that? :D)

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

That is hard. Like… superhard.

First of all – as Nathalie pointed out in her Book Tag already – Nalini Singh writes about both of them and I love Nalini Singh‘s writing to pieces! I think that Shapeshifters are pretty cool and my favourite character of all time – Curran, the Beast Lord of Atlanta from the Magic Series by Ilona Andrews – is like… the Shapeshifter in my head, but then again… argh! Raphy from „Angelfall“ by Susan Ee is my favourite angel out there. And it doesn’t really help that Misha Collins plays an amazing Castiel in Supernatural, although technically that’s a TV series and not a book series.

I guess I can’t decide. I just love a bit of both. Imagine Curran’s next form would be a celestial lion? Would I drop dead?

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Werewolves, because Lupin, Alcide and Underworld!

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Uuhm, Eric?

Thank you.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I hate, hate, hate Love Triangles. Don’t get me wrong – not all of them are unnecessary, but sadly a majority of them are. And this has been a trend for a few years, not only in the bookish world, but also in films and series. And although I don’t like Forbidden Love either, I actually wrote a story on that once, so I guess I gotta go with the second one.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Full on romance books 24/7 and action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in on days that end on a -y. 😉 No, really – there’s more to a book than those two aspects. Both can be good if they’re good written or have an original plot or very likeable characters. Most of the time, I crave also a certain amount of fun and humour in books, so I’d say it could be anything, as long as it’s original and well written. 🙂

 

Phew! That has been quite some question time, but it has been so much fun!

I’m not gonna tag anyone in particular, but if anyone would like to do the tag and talk some book, ready, set, go! Feel free to do so and let me know. I’m curious what your answers would be! 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Yours, Tabi ♥

 

 

Kommentar verfassen

